An alternative solution to MP2617

Hello,
i’m a hardware engineer at a start up in banglore, i’m working on a gps tracker similar to valtrack and i have been stuck in powering the module. it would be helpful if you can give me few pointers regarding powering of GSM module, right now i’m using tp4056 to charge a li-ion battery and using a p-channel mosfet to disconnect battery when external 12 volt is applied, thereby charging the battery and also powering up the device and when external supply is removed, the module is powered through battery. will this be an equivalent alternative to using mp2617 as suggested in your videos.
i hope you can help me out in this issue

Hello and welcome!

I’ve used a circuit with a p-fet like the following with great success, is yours similar?

When you are powering directly with the 12v power supply, how are you converting the voltage for the GSM module? You didn’t specify which module, but I imagine it would work with 4.2v to 3.7v

Hello Viedana,
yes, i have designed a circuit similar to yours.
i’m using lm317 to convert 12V to 4.4V (Since diode drops around 0.4V), i’m using this method since the total cost of all these components is less than half the cost of MP2617, i know that my method takes up lot more space but since i’m doing prototype, i’m not too concerned on board space.
hope you can give me some advice on the circuit and suggestions / corrections.

Thank you

Ok, your schematic is similar, but has some problems. For reference, check this thread on the arduino forums: https://forum.arduino.cc/index.php?topic=496727.0. They discuss what I consider a better solution to your problem.

The main concern I have with your design is two-fold: