Selecting hardware for Smart Helmet device using Arduino and GSM/GPS module

Hello,

I am currently trying to make a bicycle helmet smarter by adding GPS and GSM modules on it so that the helmet can contact the emergency services in case of any accident detected by the accelerometer.

Although I have some theoretical experience with sensors and microcontrollers, I have little practical experience. Hence, I was hoping to get some tips for this project, for example,

1. Modules - Provided, I want to use this in Sweden. Which GSM module to use? Which GPS module to use? How to detect impacts, current idea is to use an accelerometer?

2. Microcontroller - For prototyping, I am thinking to use Arduino uno, but in the future, all these components should fit on the helmet. What microcontroller is used for such compact products? And is a custom PCB the way to go for compactness?

3. Power consumption - Do these modules consume a lot of power? Which power supply shall be used, thinking about the size and also the number of hours it can work without charging?

4. Feasibility - Is this plan feasible, is having all these modules and power supply close to the head, harmful or it is not critical?

5. Support/Tutorials - I was able to find one online tutorial, ( https://circuitdigest.com/microcontroller-projects/arduino-based-accident-alert-system-using-gps-gsm-accelerometer ), and started digging into the components. Are there any other tutorials out there?

Thanking you in advance.

Regards,
Shreyans

I think Europe is going to use 2G networks for some time. You can use any 2G module, SIM800L or SIM800C. If you go for 3G, you can use SIM5300E
I recommend to use a internal GPS device for this application. Like SIM39EA or Telit SE868 kind of devices.
Accelerometer , i recommend MMA8452 as its having 12bit resolution and breakout boards are available for experimentation.

I use STM32L in my designs as ST keeps all MCU upgrades footprint compatible, even the software drivers too.